The Official Stonecutters Message Board

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The official message board of Stonecutters Floor Hockey!

2 posters

Gear Stories

fireguyq

Gear Stories Empty Gear Stories

Post  fireguyq Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:25 pm

I use a Bauer Vapor X:40 Stick'um. While I wish I could say that I chose this vital piece of equipment after extensive research into what would help me perform better as a player, I would be lying. For those that don't know, I am new to the sport. So, like any 'newbie' one of the important factors was cost. About the only thing I knew was that I wanted a composite stick and it had to be for a lefty. So I visited Play it Again Sports and browsed through the used sticks. Like King Arthur and the mythical sword, Excalibur, "Lucille" drew my hand to her and we've been together ever sense...

Also, some of our opponents have asked why I wear a helmet. While I've been told that I look like Tiger Woods, Vin Diesel and Vince Vaughn (I must say I think the lady who said Vince Vaughn probably got her 'Vin's mixed up), I am not vain about my looks. Afterall, like Keanu said in "The Replacements", 'chicks dig scars...' Seriously, when I first signed up, Matthew was told through Sports Monster that they wanted us wearing mouthpieces and eye protection. Then, they told him that they wanted us to wear helmets and that they would have some for us to borrow. Well, I kinda feel that a helmet is similar to a jock strap in the sense that it is something you probably don't want to share, so I purchased a CCM V04 from Hockeymonkey.com. Of course, the week before we start playing, the league changed it's mind and everything wasn't necessary (although they highly recommended mouth pieces and eye protection). Since the helmet was already here and in use, I decided to keep using it. 'Sides, I hate playing w/ a mouth piece...